11/02/2021
Back in January of the year 2000, after many years of neglect and misuse, Notre Dame Gate was passed on to Fondazzjoni Wirt Artna. Unfortunately, the building was in a dilapidated state because during the 1970s and 1980s the gate was used for various purposes that were not compatible with its original use – among them as a carpenter’s shop and as a discotheque. Leaks in the roof had caused extensive damage to the gate. Since then, Notre Dame Gate underwent a facelift. Services were installed, the acute water leakage repaired and it has been made secure against intrusion. Today, the rehabilitated building houses FWA’s headquarters and parts of the building are used by the public.
Notre Dame Gate is one of the original seven gates built along the Cottonera Lines by Grand Master Fra Nicola Cotoner in 1670. It was meant to serve as the principal gate for the south-eastern towns and villages. The gate was named after Our Lady of Graces, the patron saint of Zabbar. It is also known as Cotoner Gate, Zabbar Gate and Bieb is-Sultan. Notre Dame Gate, the highest building in Cottonera, is built on five levels with an elevated gatehouse resting on two massive arcaded flanks each of which were designed to offer bomb-proof cover to anyone taking refuge in them during a bombardment. Above its central section stands a stone niche flanked by stone putti and surrounded by trophies of war in which rests the bronze effigy of Grand Master Cotoner.
Much effort, funds and untold volunteer hours had gone into restoring Notre Dame Gate to what it is today. If you wish to help sustain Fondazzjoni Wirt Artna and the good work which it does, please donate by clicking on the link below.
https://www.paypal.com/donate?token=xQNmjlCYxeKSXtw14LeTBSy75lObI0P4SDkmpKYaAHtU8B05-YN6yA3QjHWoWaIhWkZtg-ZtJI_yYUey